All you need to know about FIFA Confederations Cup

( Image Credits : FIFA)

Confederations Cup

The FIFA Confederations Cup is an international association football tournament for national teams, currently held every four years by FIFA. It is contested by the winners of each of the six (UEFA, CONMEBOL, CONCACAF, CAF, AFC, OFC) regional championships, along with the current FIFA World Cup holder and the host nation, to bring the number of teams up to eight.

2017 confederation cup is going to take place in Russia and can be seen as a preparatory tournament for the 2018 FIFA world cup. It is always played one year before the world cup. Brazil is the team which had won it maximum times i.e 4 times and  the defending champions as they defeated Spain 3-0 to win 2013 edition.

Since 2005, the tournament has traditionally been held in the nation that will host the next World Cup, acting as a test event for the larger tournament.

Qualifying criteria

There are three ways of qualifying for the tournament

  • Winning a continental championship ie AFCON, Euros, Copa America, Gold Cup etc.
  • Being next World Cup host nation, hence the inclusion of Russia
  • Winning the FIFA World Cup

Teams participating this year

Group A

  • Russia
  • Portugal
  • New Zealand
  • Mexico

Group B

  • Cameroon
  • Chile
  • Australia
  • Germany

How is the tournament played

There are eight teams in the competition, seven winners from continental champions and one host nation.

The 8 qualified teams are drawn into two round-robin groups: two teams from the same confederation cannot be drawn in a group, except if there are three teams from the same confederation (something that happened for the first time in the 2017 edition when hosts Russia were joined by the World Cup champions Germany and European champions Portugal). Every team plays all other teams in their group once, for a total three matches.

Two teams qualify from each group for the semi-finals and the final is played by the two winners from the semifinal matches. There is also a third place match.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.