India vs Australia, 2nd T20I at Guwahati: Visitors win by 8 wickets; level series 1-1

(By Chinmay Pagar)

It was an unusual day in the office for Indian cricket team as their batting line-up faltered for the very first time against Australia in this series. Aussies won the game convincingly by 8 wickets with 27 balls remaining, thanks to Jason Behrendorff’s 4-wicket haul and Henriques-Head’s 110 run partnership.

In the North-East of India, which is high on football right now, Australia won the toss and asked India to bat first. Rohit started off with two boundaries in the first 3 balls, only forBehrendorff to comeback stronger in the same over and send both Rohit and Kohli back to pavilion, with Kohli scoring his very first duck in T20Is. Indians were never really able to fight back from 8-2 as they kept losing wickets at regular interval. Behrendorff soon took the wickets of Pandey and Dhawan as he finished his quota of 4 overs on trot with the figures of 4-21. Other than Jadhav’s 27 and Pandya’s 25 no other batsmen were really able to apply themselves on the pitch and Indian innings further collapsed to finish the innings at below-par total of 118.

On a pitch which had something to offer for pacers, Bhuvi and Bumrah again gave India a good start with the ball to give 39,000 fans at Guwahati a hope of a fighting contest. Bumrah removed Warner with a short-pitched delivery and Bhuvi picked up the wicket of in-form Finch, to put Aussies in a spot of bother at 13-2. But Henriques and Head saved Australia from repeating their mistake of throwing away wickets in the middle overs. Both the batsmen not only stitched a partnership but also tackled India’s spinners with ease. Henriques completed his fifty and Head just missed his by 2 runs as Aussies won the match with 27 balls left, telling us the story of how they really bossed the game today.

Behrendorff, who completely buried world’s one of the best top order with his 4 wickets, was rightly awarded man of the match. The series is now nicely poised at 1-1 as both the teams now travel to Hyderabad for the last battle of this tour, with series win at stake.

India 1st Innings R B 4s 6s
Rohit Sharma lbw b Jason Behrendorff 8 4 2 0
Shikhar Dhawan c David Warner b Jason Behrendorff 2 6 0 0
Virat Kohli (C) c & b Jason Behrendorff 0 2 0 0
Manish Pandey c Tim Paine b Jason Behrendorff 6 7 1 0
Kedar Jadhav b Adam Zampa 27 27 3 1
MS Dhoni (W) st Tim Paine b Adam Zampa 13 16 1 0
Hardik Pandya c sub b Marcus Stoinis 25 23 0 1
Bhuvneshwar Kumar c Moises Henriques b Nathan Coulter-Nile 1 6 0 0
Kuldeep Yadav c Tim Paine b Andrew Tye 16 19 1 0
Jasprit Bumrah run out (Tim Paine) 7 9 1 0
Yuzvendra Chahal not out 3 2 0 0

Fall of wickets

1-8 (Rohit Sharma, 0.4 ov),
2-8 (Virat Kohli, 1 ov),
3-16 (Manish Pandey, 2.2 ov),
4-27 (Shikhar Dhawan, 4.3 ov),
5-60 (MS Dhoni, 9.5 ov),
6-67 (Kedar Jadhav, 11.1 ov),
7-70 (Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 12.4 ov),
8-103 (Hardik Pandya, 17.3 ov),
9-115 (Jasprit Bumrah, 19.3 ov),
10-118 (Kuldeep Yadav, 20 ov),
Bowling   O M R W
Jason Behrendorff   4 0 21 4
Nathan Coulter-Nile   4 0 23 1
Andrew Tye   4 0 30 1
Adam Zampa   4 0 19 2
Marcus Stoinis   4 0 20 1
Australia 2nd Innings R B 4s 6s
Aaron Finch c Virat Kohli b Bhuvneshwar Kumar 8 8 1 0
David Warner (C) c Virat Kohli b Jasprit Bumrah 2 5 0 0
Moises Henriques not out 62 46 4 4
Travis Head not out 48 34 5 1
Glenn Maxwell          
Marcus Stoinis          
Tim Paine (W)          
Nathan Coulter-Nile          
Andrew Tye          
Adam Zampa          
Jason Behrendorff          
 Fall of wickets
1-11 (David Warner, 1.3 ov),
2-13 (Aaron Finch, 2.5 ov),
Bowling   O M R W
Bhuvneshwar Kumar   3 0 9 1
Jasprit Bumrah   3 0 25 1
Hardik Pandya   2 0 13 0
Kuldeep Yadav   4 0 46 0
Yuzvendra Chahal   3.3 0 29 0

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.