India announces squad for ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2018; Prithvi Shaw named captain

Mumbai batsman Prithivi Shaw has been named the captain of the Indian U19 team for the coming Under-19 World Cup 2018, which will kickstart in New Zealand from Janaury 13. Shubman Gill, who hails from Punjab, has been named the vice-captain of the team. 

Aryan Juyal and Harvik Desai have been named as the two wicket-keepers in the team. 

India will play their first match against Australia on Janaury 14, and the other two games are with Papua New Guinea and Zimbabwe on January 16 and 19 respectively. India has a rich history in the tournament, winning the trophy thrice. In 2000, it was Mohammad Kaif’s side which lifted the trophy. Then, in 2008, Indian team led by Virat Kohli put their hands on the trophy and in 2012, it was an Unmukt Chand-captained side which won the tournament. 

U-19 WC squad: Prithvi Shaw (C), Shubman Gill (VC), Manjot Kalra, Himanshu Rana, Abhishek Sharma, Riyan Parag, Aryan Juyal (WK), Harvik Desai (WK), Shivam Mavi, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Ishan Porel, Arshdeep Singh, Anukul Roy, Shiva Singh, Pankaj Yadav

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.